About

Tim Bergsten created this Ning Network.

Everyone else ran 10 miles or 10K. The now famous Garden of the Gods bear ran about 60 feet and this is just a sampling of the media storm it created.

Race officials are now in contract talks with the bear. It's rumored that any deal will include appearance fees for promotional events, and a guaranteed surprise for runners on race day.

Special thanks to Don Sanborn for capturing the photos and gathering the links.

Newspapers

The Gazette:  http://gazette.com/bear-crosses-through-garden-of-the-gods-10-mile-...

The Kansas City Star:  http://www.kansascity.com/news/nation-world/article155656024.html

The Sacramento Bee:  http://www.sacbee.com/latest-news/article155613739.html

The Denver Post:  http://www.denverpost.com/2017/06/12/bear-colorado-race/

Miami Herald:  http://www.miamiherald.com/news/nation-world/article155613739.html

The Wichita Eagle:  http://www.kansas.com/news/nation-world/article155613739.html

The Telegraph (Macon, GA):  http://www.macon.com/news/nation-world/article155613739.html

The Olympian (Olympia, WA):  http://www.theolympian.com/news/nation-world/article155613739.html

The News Tribune (Tacoma, WA):  http://www.thenewstribune.com/news/nation-world/article155613739.html

SunHerald (Gulfport, MS):  http://www.sunherald.com/news/nation-world/article155613739.html

USA Today:  https://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation-now/2017/06/13/bear-cros...

The Coloradoan (Ft. Collins, CO):  http://www.coloradoan.com/story/news/local/colorado/2017/06/12/bear...

MLive (Michigan):  http://www.mlive.com/news/us-world/index.ssf/2017/06/bear_startles_...

Napa Valley Register:  http://napavalleyregister.com/news/weird-news/that-s-no-normal-runn...

Prescott Daily Courier:  https://www.dcourier.com/news/2017/jun/14/s-no-normal-runner-bear-c...

Herald-Tribune (Sarasota):  http://www.heraldtribune.com/zz/news/20170612/light-lunch-bear-cros...

The Journal (Cortez, CO):  https://the-journal.com/articles/53006

The Lawton Constitution (SW OK):  http://swoknews.com/area/bear-takes-lead-colo-foot-race

Droitwich Spa Advertiser (England and Wales):  http://www.droitwichadvertiser.co.uk/NEWS/15341705.National_news__B...

The Durango Herald:  https://durangoherald.com/articles/165271

Springfield News-Sun:  http://www.springfieldnewssun.com/news/national/bear-joins-colorado...

Daily Herald (Illinois):  http://www.dailyherald.com/article/20170611/news/306119890

Pueblo Pulp:  http://pueblopulp.com/colorado-bear-enters-garden-gods-race-didnt-win/

The Pueblo Chieftain:  http://www.chieftain.com/news/that-s-no-normal-runner-bear-crosses-...

Journal Star (Peoria, IL):  http://www.pjstar.com/zz/news/20170612/light-lunch-bear-crosses-thr...

Huffington Post:  http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/bear-scares-runners_us_593fd2fd...

 

Magazines

People.com:  http://people.com/pets/bear-steals-chickens-job-crosses-road-during...

Canadian Running:  http://runningmagazine.ca/garden-of-the-gods-10-mile-run-bear/

Runner’s World:  http://www.runnersworld.com/general-interest/6-times-when-animals-c...

 

Local TV Stations

*CBS Denver:  http://denver.cbslocal.com/2017/06/11/bear-race-garden-gods/

9News Denver:  http://www.9news.com/travel/destinations/colorado-adventures/thats-...

ABC 13 (Houston, TX):  http://abc13.com/news/bear-scares-runners-during-colorado-race/2086...

WSOCTV (North Carolina):  http://www.wsoctv.com/news/water-cooler/bear-joins-colorado-race-su...

KIRO 7 (Seattle, WA):  http://www.kiro7.com/news/trending-now/bear-joins-colorado-race-sur...

Fox 9 (Eden Prairie, MN):  http://www.fox9.com/news/260428995-story

Fox 21 News:  http://fox21news.com/2017/06/12/bear-runs-through-race-at-garden-of...

Fox 5 San Diego:  http://fox5sandiego.com/2017/06/11/bear-surprises-runners-during-co...

WGN 9 (Chicago):  http://wgntv.com/2017/06/12/bear-joins-race-through-colorado-park/

KTVQ (Billings, MT):  http://www.ktvq.com/story/35642031/bear-startles-colorado-runners

WBTV (Charlotte, NC):  http://www.wbtv.com/story/35639338/thats-no-normal-runner-bear-cros...

Fox 8 (High Point, NC):  http://myfox8.com/2017/06/12/bear-joins-race-through-colorado-park/

KFOR (Oklahoma City, OK):  http://kfor.com/2017/06/12/bear-joins-race-through-colorado-park/

Fox 13 (Salt Lake City, UT):  http://fox13now.com/2017/06/12/bear-joins-race-through-colorado-park/

Fox 8 (Cleveland, OH):  http://fox8.com/2017/06/12/bear-joins-race-through-colorado-park/

News 3 (Memphis, TN):  http://wreg.com/2017/06/12/bear-joins-race-through-colorado-park/

WQAD 8 (Moline, IL):  http://wqad.com/2017/06/12/bear-joins-race-through-colorado-park/

Fox 61 (Hartford, CT):  http://fox61.com/2017/06/12/bear-joins-race-through-colorado-park/

CBS 6 (Richmond, VA):  http://wtvr.com/2017/06/12/bear-joins-race-through-colorado-park/

Fox 6 (Milwaukee, WI):  http://fox6now.com/2017/06/12/bear-joins-race-through-colorado-park/

Q13 Fox (Seattle, WA):  http://q13fox.com/2017/06/12/bear-joins-race-through-colorado-park/

PHL 17 (Philadelphia, PA):  http://phl17.com/2017/06/12/bear-joins-race-through-colorado-park/

Fox 2 (St. Louis, MO):  http://fox2now.com/2017/06/12/bear-joins-race-through-colorado-park/

Fox 43 (York, PA):  http://fox43.com/2017/06/12/bear-joins-race-through-colorado-park/

KTLA 5:  http://ktla.com/2017/06/12/bear-joins-race-through-colorado-park/

Fox 17 (West Michigan):  http://fox17online.com/2017/06/12/bear-joins-race-through-colorado-...

Fox 40 (Sacramento, Stockton, Modesto):  http://fox40.com/2017/06/12/bear-joins-race-through-colorado-park/

Fox 4 KC:  http://fox4kc.com/2017/06/12/bear-joins-race-through-colorado-park/

7 KBZK (Bozeman, MT):  http://www.kbzk.com/story/35642530/bear-startles-colorado-runners

CW 39 (Houston, TX):  http://cw39.com/2017/06/12/bear-joins-race-through-colorado-park/

4 KXLF (Butte, MT):  http://www.kxlf.com/story/35642530/bear-startles-colorado-runners

KPLR 11 (St. Louis, MO):  http://kplr11.com/2017/06/12/bear-joins-race-through-colorado-park/

NBC4 (LA):  http://www.nbclosangeles.com/news/weird/Bear-Colorado-Race-42804513...

 

National TV Networks

The Weather Channel:  https://weather.com/science/nature/news/colorago-garden-of-gods-bea...

ABC News:  http://abcnews.go.com/Weird/wireStory/normal-runner-bear-crosses-co...

 

International News

Daily Mail (UK):  http://www.dailymail.co.uk/wires/pa/article-4595072/That-s-no-norma...

Belfast Telegraph: http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/world-news/thats-no-normal-r...

Halesowen News (UK):  http://www.halesowennews.co.uk/news/15341705.National_news__Bear_cr...

L!FE (Russian?):  https://life.ru/t/%D0%BD%D0%BE%D0%B2%D0%BE%D1%81%D1%82%D0%B8/101643...

Independent (Ireland):  http://www.independent.ie/world-news/thats-no-normal-runner-bear-cr...

Telegraph & Argus (UK):  http://www.thetelegraphandargus.co.uk/news/national/15341702.That__...

 Evening Express (UK):  https://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/pipe/news/international/thats-no-n...

Emirates247 (Dubai):  http://www.emirates247.com/offbeat/that-s-no-normal-runner-bear-cro...

 ITV news:  http://www.itv.com/news/2017-06-12/thats-no-normal-runner-bear-cras...

 Kidsweek (Danish?):  http://www.kidsweek.nl/dieren/beer-jaagt-hardlopers-stuipen-op-t-lijf

 Haller Kreisblatt (German):  http://www.haller-kreisblatt.de/ueberregional/aus_aller_welt/218196...

 

Blogs/General Internet:

MSN.com:  http://www.msn.com/en-us/lifestyle/whats-hot/omg-this-bear-interrup...

Wide Open Spaces:  http://www.wideopenspaces.com/heard-one-bear-ran-10-mile-race-color...

GrindTV:  http://www.grindtv.com/wildlife/bear-disrupts-runner-race-colorado-...

ARRL- The National Association for Amateur Radio:  http://www.arrl.org/news/bear-is-unwanted-volunteer-as-ares-team-su...

 Outdoorhub.com:  https://www.outdoorhub.com/news/2017/06/12/bear-gives-runners-extra...

 NewsExplored.com:  http://newsexplored.co.uk/bear-surprises-runners-during-colorado-race/

 Competitor.com:  http://running.competitor.com/2017/06/news/black-bear-startles-runn...

 Aol. News:  https://www.aol.com/article/news/2017/06/12/bear-surprises-runners-...

 

Radio

 101.9 King FM:  http://kingfm.com/bear-runs-onto-colorado-race-course/

 94.3 X Front Range Alternative:  http://thexfrontrange.com/a-bear-crosses-through-a-co-foot-race/

 KTAR News (Phoenix, AZ):  https://ktar.com/story/1617228/thats-no-normal-runner-bear-crosses-...

 

Views: 179

© 2017   Created by Tim Bergsten.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service